Pro Football Hall of Fame

Finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015 Revealed!

Rory Harris

By Rory Harris

January 20, 2015

The 18 finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame Class of 2015 are in!

The finalists are made up of 15 Modern-Era players and coaches, including one senior finalist and two contributor finalists.  

Pro-Football-HOF-bustsThe First-Timers

There were several first year finalists including the deceased Junior Seau, Kurt Warner and Orlando Pace. This is the first year all three were eligible for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Seau played 20 seasons in the NFL and won Defensive Player of the Year in 1992, as well as played in the Pro Bowl 12 times. If he is selected as an enshrinee for the Class of 2015, he will be the 22nd player to be elected in posthumously.

If selected, Warner would be the first quarterback to be selected since 2006, when Troy Aikman and Warren Moon were elected in. As a two-time MVP, including the year he led the Rams to the Superbowl, our guess is he has a decent shot. 

A few other first-time finalists are Terrell Davis and Jimmy Johnson.

The Best of the Best 

HOF-Gold-Jacket-CeremonyThe Pro Football Hall of Fame only takes the best of the NFL, and the process for choosing the acclaimed enshrinees is extensive.

For finalists to be selected as enshrinees into the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2015 class, the candidates must receive a minimum of an 80 percent positive vote. 

The Official Pro Football Hall of Fame Selection Committee is made up of 46 members. To select the nominees, the committee participates in year-long, detailed process.

To be eligible, the players and coaches must have last played or coached more than five seasons ago. 

The finalists are chosen by the selection committee from a list of 113 nominees, and they are then narrowed down to 26 semi-finalists during the year-long process. The official class of enshrinees will be announced on Jan. 31. 

Several coaches are finalists for the 2015 class this year, including the much-loved Tony Dungy. He is currently in his second year of eligibility.

The Finalists

Here is the official list of the 18 finalists and their positions: 

Finalist                    Position

Morten Anderson               
Jerome Bettis
Running Back
Tim Brown

Wide Receiver/
Kick Returner/
Punt Returner

Don Coryell
Terrell Davis
Running Back
Tony Dungy
Kevin Greene
Linebacker/Defensive End
Marvin Harrison
Wide Receiver
Jimmy Johnson
John Lynch
Free Safety 
Orlando Pace
Bil Polian
Junior Seau
Will Shields
Mick Tingelhoff
Kurt Warner 
Ron Wolf 
Charles Haley  Defensive End/Linebacker

Several of the finalists tweeted their reactions to the announcement: 

Be There!

You can see history in the making as the Class of 2015 are inducted into the Pro Football Hall of Fame during the Enshrinement Weekend!

With Official Ticket Packages from NFL On Location and QuintEvents, you can be a part of all of the Enshrinement Weekend festivities, including the Gold Jacket Ceremony and the Round Table Discussion! 

To get a better look at Official Ticket Packages, check out the 2015 Pro Football Hall of Fame website or call 1-844-751-0532 to learn more about NFL On Location's exclusive weekend experience. 


Check Out Packages!