NBA Summer League

League of Champions: Past NBA Summer League Winners

Jaime Villegas

By Jaime Villegas

August 26, 2015

NBA Summer League 6The NBA Summer League is the most anticipated event during the off-season. It is a series of competitions where NBA teams come together to try out different summer rosters instead of their regular season line-ups.

This is a perfect opportunity to showcase less-seasoned players consisting of rookies, second-year players, and unsigned free agents.

Currently the NBA Summer League takes place through three different leagues: the Orlando Pro Summer League, Utah Jazz Summer League and the Las Vegas Summer League.

Through Official Ticket Packages direct from the NBA through NBA Events, fans can get a glimpse of some of the NBA’s most up-and-coming stars.

Let’s take a look at the past winners of the Las Vegas Summer League since 2013.

NBA Summer League 52013 (Golden State Warriors vs. Phoenix Suns)

The 2013 NBA Summer League season was one for the record books. It quickly cemented itself as being an integral part of the NBA off-season. 22 teams participated in the Las Vegas Summer League: Atlanta Hawks, Charlotte Bobcats, Chicago Bulls, Cleveland Cavaliers, Dallas Mavericks, Denver Nuggets, Golden State Warriors, Los Angeles Clippers, Los Angeles Lakers, Memphis Grizzlies, Miami Heat, Milwaukee Bucks, Minnesota Timberwolves, New Orleans Pelicans, New York Knicks, Phoenix Suns, Portland Trail Blazers, Sacramento Kings, San Antonio Sp

However, the semifinals came down to Miami Heat against the Phoenix Suns and the Charlotte Bobcats versus the Golden State Warriors. The Phoenix Suns trumped Miami Heat with a score of 91 to 89. The Golden State Warriors didn’t hold back as they defeated the Charlotte Bobcats 75 to 67.urs, Toronto Raptors, Washington Wizards and the NBA D-League Select.

During the finals, the Golden State Warriors went to head-to-head with the Phoenix Suns. The final match was a grueling one as both teams were not letting up. In the end, the Golden State Warriors took the title home.

2014 (Sacramento Kings vs. Houston Rockets)

The 2014 edition of the NBA Summer League saw 23 NBA Teams and the NBA D-League Select team participate.

The semifinals in 2014 saw the return of just one familiar team, albeit with a slightly different name. The Charlotte Hornets, previously known as the Charlotte Bobcats, unfortunately weren’t able to hold off the Rockets as they were defeated 83 to 79.

The Sacramento Kings and the Washington Wizards also went at it on the same day to determine which team would battle it out against the Rockets for the title. After an exhausting but exciting game, the Sacramento Kings beat the Wizards 74 to 62.

The next day you could feel the electricity in the air as the crowd was pumped for the match-up between the Houston Rockets and the Sacramento Kings. The first and second quarters were pretty evenly matched as both teams put 17-20 points on the board each during both quarters. During the final quarter the Sacramento Kings pulled the rug out from under the Rockets, finishing with a score of 77 to 68.  

NBA Summer League 32015 (San Antonio vs. Phoenix Suns

This year’s final four show down was insane! The matchups were as follow: the Phoenix Suns versus the New Orleans Pelicans and the Atlanta Hawks against the San Antonio Spurs.

The Atlanta Hawks took on the San Antonio Spurs first, and the Spurs came out swinging. The Spurs put on 23 points in the first quarter, 12 more than the Hawks. Without skipping a beat, the Spurs continued to dominate the Hawks, ultimately beating the Hawks 75 to 68.

For the second round of the semifinals it was the Phoenix Suns versus the New Orleans Pelicans. The Pelicans had been a favorite throughout the summer league and were thought to make it all the way to the final, but the Suns pulled out all the stops and made it an almost impossible feat for them. The Phoenix Suns finished the semifinals on top of the Pelicans with a score of 93 to 87.

Then the stage was set, the Phoenix Suns versus the San Antonio Spurs for the title. Fans were eager to see both teams go at it as it was evident that the championship round was one you did not want to miss. And boy was each quarter a nail-biter! After teams switched back and forth for the lead the entire game, it came down to the last quarter. The Spurs and the Suns equally put more than 28 points on the board just in the fourth quarter alone! In the end, the San Antonio Spurs prevailed and won the title of 2015 NBA Summer League champs.

NBA Summer League 2

Want to go to the 2016 NBA

Summer League?

The NBA season hasn’t started yet, but there’s no better time like the present to plan your experience to the 2016 NBA Summer League!

Through NBA Events, get all of the non-stop action and thrill that comes with NBA Summer League as well as incredible exclusive access you won’t find anywhere else. Secure luxurious hospitality, NBA Legend meet & greet opportunities, and accommodation in Toronto’s finest hotels!


Get on the Wait List for the  2016 NBA Summer League!