Unlock Archive

MotoGP Teams and Riders for 2014

Tiffany Doolittle

By Tiffany Doolittle

February 25, 2014

The MotoGP™ teams and rrivers played musical chairs with the 2013 lineup, just as many racing teams do each year once they’ve seen rookies perform, team chemistry and other deciding factors throughout the prior series. With legends like Marc Marquez getting hurt during testing, several riders getting completely knocked off of the roster and newcomers squeezing into the lineup, 2014 will be more intense than any Championship series yet.


Consistency is Key
Only two teams out of 13 are keeping the same lineup as the previous year. Repsol Honda Team, the team champion in 2013, kept both of their podium-hungry, Spanish riders from last season. No. 1 rider and record-breaking rookie Marc Marquez and No. 3 Dani Pedrosa will be representing the powerhouse team once again for what they are hoping to break even more records in this already extreme sport. Despite Marquez’s recent injury, both riders are optimistic about their Repsol Honda Team and what they are capable of.

Yamaha Factory Racing will also be keeping both of their riders since, like Repsol Honda Team, they also are extremely familiar with the podium. The 2013 runner-up rider Jorge Lorenzo and No. 4 Valentino Rossi plan to have an even bigger year, continuing to give Marquez and Pedrosa a run for their money. These teams finished only 67 points apart, while finishing more than 250 points over ever other team.

Making Moves
Unlike the last two teams, Drive M7 Aspar (previously Power Electronics Aspar) has completely changed its lineup for a new, fresh start in the sport. The Aspar Team will go into the 2014 season with a new main sponsor and two new riders to the team, Hiroshi Aoyama and Nicky Hayden. Although these riders are new to the team, they are far from new in the sport has both came from other MotoGP™ teams and Hayden finish ninth in the 2013. These riders replace previous Aspar riders Randy de Puniet who is no longer on the roster, along with Aleix Aspargaro who will now be racing for NGM Mobile Forward.

Puniet (French) is not the only MotoGP™ veteran to leave the lineup, as Claudio Corti (Italian), Ben Spies (American) and Lukas Pesek (Czechoslovakian) will follow. And Aspargaro (Spanish) is one of many to be added or switched teams going into the 2014 series.

Watch the New Teams!

Below will help you see the 2014 teams and riders for yourself!

Respol Honda 
• Marc Marquez stays
• Dani Pedrosa stays

Yamaha Factory Racing
• Valentino Rossi stays
• Jorge Lorenzo stays

LCR Honda MotoGP
• Stefan Bradl

Cardion AB Motoracing
• Karel Abraham stays

GO&FUN Honda Gresini
• Alvaro Bautista stays
• Scott Redding is added

Avintia Racing
• Hector Barbara stays
• Mike Di Meglio replaced Hiroshi Aoyama

Drive M7 Aspar
• Hiroshi Aoyama replaced Randy de Puniet
• Nicky Hayden replaced Aleix Espargaro

NGM Mobile Forward Racing
• Collin Edwards stays
• Aleix Espargaro replaced Claudio Corti

Ducati Team
• Andrea Dovizioso stays
• Cal Cruthlow replaced Nicky Hayden

Monster Yamaha Tech 3
• Bradley Smith stays
• Pol Espargaro replaced Cal Crutchlow

Paul Bird Motorsport
• Michael Laverty stays
• Broc Parkes replaced Yonny Hernandez

Pramac Racing
• Andrea Iannone stays
• Yonny Hernandez replaced Ben Spies

IodaRacing Project
• Danilo Petrucci stays
• Leon Camier replaced Lukas Pesek