College Football Playoff

The New Additions to the College Football Playoff Selection Committee

Victoria Barnett

By Victoria Barnett

January 26, 2016

CZQdq-SUYAAEW7Y.jpg-large.jpegThe College Football Playoff Selection Committee meets throughout the college football season to produce weekly rankings of the top 25 teams leading up to the final selections. They are then responsible for selecting the top four teams in the playoff and assigning them to semifinal games.  

Recently, the College Football Playoff announced the new members and changes to the Selection Committee for the 2016-2017 season. Learn more about them below.  

Kirby Hocutt, Chair 

kirby.jpgBill Hancock, Executive Director of the College Football Playoff, announced that Texas Tech University Director of Athletics Kirby Hocutt will serve as the second chair of the Selection Committee. Jeff Long has rotated out of the chair after two years.  

Hocutt graduated from Kansas State University in 1995 where he was a four-year letterman and an All-Big Eight Conference linebacker. He then served as Director of Athletics at Ohio University and the University of Miami prior to taking the job at Texas Tech. He was also the chairman of the NCAA Division I Football Recruiting Subcommittee.  

His responsibilities as chairman for the Committee include setting the selection committee's agenda, running its meetings and being the spokesman for the committee along with Hancock.  

"College football continues to have a significant impact in my life and I am humbled and honored by this appointment,” said Hocutt.  “Serving on the committee this past season was a tremendous experience.  The thoughtful consideration, professionalism and integrity exhibited by the members of this committee speak to the level of success the College Football Playoff has shown in its brief history.” 

Jeff Bower 

Bower.pngBower earned his undergraduate degree and M.B.A. from the University of Southern Mississippi, where he was also the quarterback for the Golden Eagles. In total, he spent 29 years at Souther Miss. as a quarterback, assistant coach and head coach.  

Prior to becoming the head coach, he was an assistant coach (quarterbacks) for Southern Methodist University and Wake Forest University as well as the offensive coordinator for Oklahoma State University. As head coach, he led Southern Miss to 14 straight winning seasons, four Conference USA championships (1996, 1997, 1999 and 2003), and six bowl victories.  

Bower was named C-USA coach-of-the-year three times, and the conference named him "Coach of the Decade" in 2004. He was also named the 2003 Johnny Vaught All-American Head Coach by the All-American Football Foundation. In 1988, he was inducted into the Southern Miss Sports Hall of Fame. 

Lloyd Carr 

Carr.jpgCarr played baseball and football for Missouri (1964-1966) before transferring to Northern Michigan, where he led the Wildcats to an undefeated season as quarterback in 1967. This former Michigan head coach (1995-2007) has decades of coaching and playing experience. 

As head coach, he led the Michigan Wolverines to a 1997 national championship, five Big Ten titles and six bowl victories. He also finished with 122 wins, the third most in school history. Prior to becoming head coach at Michigan, he served as defensive backs coach and defensive coordinator.  

Carr has earned several awards including AFCA Coach of the Year, Walter Camp Coach of the Year, Bobby Dodd Coach of the Year and the George Munger and Paul "Bear" Bryant awards. He was inducted into the Northern Michigan Sports Hall of Fame in 1996, the College Football Hall of Fame in 2011 and the University of Michigan Hall of Honor in 2015. 

Herb Deromedi 

Deromedi-BW.jpgDeromedi received his bachelor's and master's degrees from the University of Michigan before spending 38 years at Central Michigan University and retiring as the winningest coach in Mid-American Conference history with an overall record of 110-55-10.

He served as head coach of the Chippewas from 1978 to 1993 and then became the Director of Athletics from 1994-2006. He also chaired the NCAA Football Rules Committee in 2003.  

While head coach, he was named MAC Coach of the Year in 1980 and 1990 and led CMU to three conference championships in 1979, 1980 and 1990. He is a member of the Central Michigan University Athletic Hall of Fame, the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame, the College Football Hall of Fame and the Mid-American Conference Hall of Fame. 

Rob Mullens 

Mullens-BW.jpgMullens received his bachelor's degree in business administration from West Virginia University in 1991 followed by his master's degree in sports management in 1993.

For a short while, he worked as an accountant for Ernst & Young before he moved up the ladder in athletic administration at the University of Miami (1994-1996), University of Maryland (1996-2002) and University of Kentucky (2002-2010).  

He now serves as the Director of Athletics at the University of Oregon. Since his appointment in 2010, Oregon had its best finish ever in the Directors' Cup – a national assessment of an athletic department's overall achievements. Now, Oregon averages more than 100 academic all-conference selections annually.  

All information derived from College Football Playoff. Images belong to College Football Playoff.
Learn more about the Selection Committee

Attend the 2017 College Football Playoff National Championship 

We have so much to look forward to next year as the College Football Playoff National Championship moves to Tampa, Florida! Plus, we have these bright new faces added to the Selection Committee – each of which brings a high level of expertise that will contribute greatly to the 2016-2017 season. 
Already thinking about the game next year? Official Ticket Packages through College Football Experiences have yet to be released, but you can get on the quick call back list to be notified when they are available.

New Call-to-action